lyrikline blog

Bei Ling on the importance of poetry

Posted in Autoren / poets, Bei Ling by Heiko Strunk on 19. March 2010

Reading English poets, Russia poets and German poets has been an important part of my literary life, though I have largely relied on translations in Chinese. In my original milieu, reading English-language poets was a gesture of independence. It was a formative experience for me. I was also avid to learn about the poets’ biographies. I read translations that recreated the works of modern masters in Chinese lines and phrases. I can still recite from Chinese versions of Paul Celan, Rainer Maria Rilke, Marina Tsvetaeva, Boris Pasternak, Joseph Brodsky, T.S. Eliot, Sylvia Plath, and Walt Whitman.

I am a Chinese poet living in exile, still committed to writing in my mother tongue. Certainly my experiences have been quite different from all of yours. But in literature, we all belong to a tribe that ranges across the territory of poetry. Literature is made to cross national and political boundaries. Literature has always pointed beyond divisions.
Bei Ling, Taiwan/USA

– – –

Englische Dichter, russische und deutsche Dichter zu lesen ist ein wichtiger Teil meines literarischen Lebens, auch wenn ich meist auf chinesische Übersetzungen angewiesen bin. In meiner ursprünglichen Umgebung war das Lesen von englischsprachigen Dichtern ein Zeichen von Unabhängigkeit. Für mich war es eine prägende Erfahrung. Ich war außerdem eifrig dabei, etwas über die Leben der Dichter zu lernen. Ich las Übersetzungen, welche die Werke moderner Meister in chinesischen Zeilen und Sätzen neu erschufen. Ich kann immer noch chinesische Übersetzungen von Paul Celan, Rainer Maria Rilke, Marina Tsvetaeva, Boris Pasternak, Joseph Brodsky, T. S. Eliot, Sylvia Plath und Walt Whitman zitieren.

Ich bin ein chinesischer Dichter im Exil und fühle mich immer noch dem Schreiben in meiner Muttersprache verpflichtet. Sicherlich, meine Erfahrungen sind ganz anders als die eurigen. Aber in der Literatur gehören wir alle einem Stamm, der sämtliche Spielarten der Poesie umfasst, an. Literatur wird dazu gemacht, nationale und politische Grenzen zu überschreiten. Literatur deutet immer auf etwas, was jenseits aller Unterschiede liegt.
Bei Ling, Taiwan/USA

[Übersetzt von Rebecca Bartusch]

Bei Ling on lyrikline.org

Leave a Reply

